No headline provided

No headline provided

Red Bull driver Mark Webber won the FIA Formula One 2009 GrandePr??mio Petrobras do Brasil Saturday at Aut??dromo Jos?© Carlos Pace,S??o Paulo, Brazil.

Robert Kubica came in second for BMW Sauber, and Lewis Hamiltonfinished third for McLaren.

Webber’s teammate Sebastian Vettel started from 15th place onthe starting grid after he couldn’t come up from the firstqualification session, but finished 4th in front of hischampionship rival.

Brawn Grand Prix driver Jenson Button finished 5th to win histitle. His team, representing the remnants of Honda Racing, alsowon the 2009 Constructors’ championship after leading through theseason.

The team’s road to victory was not smooth – a scandal broke withthe “double-decker diffuser” of the BGP001 car. After the FIAdeclared them legal and other teams started to borrow the idea,Brawn sped up by collecting points on the way to the title.

Brawn GP, the winning constructor

Kimi R?¤ikk?¶nen (Ferrari) and S?©bastien Buemi (Toro Rosso)dropped one place from the starting grid and finished behindButton.

Button’s teammate and possible vice-champion Rubens Barrichello,who won pole position on his home soil after nearly three hours ofa long rainy qualification session, had a tire puncture on thedying laps of the race and was forced to make an unscheduled thirdvisit to his pit. He closed in the top eight.

This Brazil GP featured Japanese rookie driver, Kamui Kobayashi(Toyota), who replaced recovering Glock. In his first race thisyoung driver qualified 11th and finished 10th in the race.

Adrian Sutil qualified 3rd for Force India, but was taken out byJarno Trulli (Toyota) on the first lap.

Leave a Comment