Arcade’s most anticipated album releases

Haley Soares, Arcade Editor

The beginning of 2020 has all of us venturing boldly into the next decade and into a new semester. There’s a lot of new for everyone, from short-lived New Years resolutions to new classes, and of course, a plethora of brand new album releases from our favorite musical artists. 

Czars Trinidad | Layout Editor

Without further ado, here are Arcade’s albums to watch out for this semester. 

“UR FUN” by of Montreal – Jan. 17

“UR FUN” is the 16th studio album to be released by this veteran indie band, led by frontman Kevin Barnes. Barnes has been steadily releasing music under the name of Montreal since 1997, with other band members constantly rotating out. The band has an incredibly distinct and new sound with each album release, constantly innovating and experimenting with their music. We are waiting in anticipation to see what the band does with this new release, coming out this Friday.

“The Neon Skyline” by Andy Shauf – Jan. 24

Multifaceted singer-songwriter Andy Shauf graces us with an album for the first time in nearly four years, following his popular album “The Party” in 2016. Shauf has kept fans happy with a few singles prefacing the release of the album in January, but it’s safe to say that we are all itching to hear the full album after his lengthy sabbatical. 

“The Slow Rush” by Tame Impala – Feb. 14

“The Slow Rush” is the highly anticipated fourth studio album by Kevin Parker, better known as Tame Impala. The band has been teasing this release for what seems like eons, riling up fans before the imminent release. Coming out on Valentine’s Day, this album is sure to have fans falling in love with the band even more.

“Honeymoon” by Beach Bunny – Feb. 14

Indie pop band Beach Bunny is finally releasing their debut album this February, and we cannot wait to see what this young band can do. This, of course, comes after they have already gained quite a following in the music world with their earlier EPs. We recommend that everyone keep an eye on this rising artist in the year to come. You certainly won’t regret it.

“You Know I’m Not Going Anywhere” by The Districts – March 13

This upcoming album by Pennsylvania-based indie rock band has been described by lead singer Rob Grote as “an unachievable promise … a plea to remain the same in the face of constant change, and the certainty of going nowhere fast.” We are intrigued as to what this will mean for the band’s constantly evolving sound. YKINGA is the fourth album to be released by this band and is sure to tickle the ears of longtime supporters and new fans alike.

Leave a Comment